Jury and Awards

Pre-selection Jury International

Nazlı Bayram, Ph.d.
Mahmut Çağrı İnceoğlu, Ph.d.
Gizem Melek, Ph.d.
Ürün Yıldıran Önk, Ph.d.
Burcu Dabak Özdemir, Ph.d.
Pelin Aytemiz, Ph.d.
Simge Gökbayrak, Ph.d.
Baran Akkuş, Ph.d.
Öykü Yenen, Ph.d.
Simge Uğurluer

International Student Jury

Nevzat Çapalov
Konstantinos Farmakas
Melina Loukanidou
Despoina Mavridou
Rumeysa Metin


Panos Iosifelis

Panagiotis Iosifelis is a Screenwriter, Professor in Screenwriting for Cinema and Television – School of Film, Faculty of Fine Arts of Aristotle University of Thessaloniki. Coordinator and Professor of Unit DGR 61 «Cinema and Television Writing» at the Postgraduate Program “Creative Writing” of Hellenic Open University and also Professor at the Postgraduate Program of “Creative Writing – Screenwriting” at the University of Western Macedonia.  He has written scripts for five (5) feature films, three hundred twenty-two (322) one-hour-long episodes for TV series, eight (8) scripts for short films, two feature-length documentaries, and an educational web series of 50 episodes. The feature films for which he has written the scripts have participated and won awards in many Greek and International festivals. Member of the evaluation and advisory committee for script selection and funding of the Greek Film Center. Head Programmer for the National Student Competition Program at Drama International Short Film Festival.  Member of the Scriptwriters Guild of Greece. Head of Film School of Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and member of the Senate of Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (2018- 2020).

Dimitris Koutsiabasakos 

Dimitris Koutsiabasakos studied Movie and TV Direction at the All-Russian State University of Cinematography, in Moscow, (V.G.I.K.) and is an Associate Professor in Film Directing at the School of Film at Aristotle University of Thessaloniki. He directed documentaries, serials, and short and feature films for television and feature films. His works have been recognized with numerous national and international awards. He is a member of the Greek Film Academy and the European Film Academy.

Ahmet Gürata

Ahmet Gürata is a professor of film studies at Izmir University of Economics. His latest book is Imitation of Life: Cross-Cultural Reception and Remakes in Turkish Cinema (Editions Moustache, 2021). He also works as a programmer for the Antalya Golden Orange Film Festival and Festival on Wheels.

Dilek Tunalı

A Faculty member in DEÜGSF Film Design and Directing Department, Tunalı served as a preliminary and main jury member at the Adana Altın Koza International Short Film Competition, International Lions Short Film Competition, and International EU Human Rights Short Film Competitions. Her book titled “Melodram, Hollywood’dan Yeşilçam’a; Acının Yüceltilmesi” is one of their works. Tunalı also contributed chapters to collective books such as “Sinema-İdeoloji-Politika”, “Saygı”, “Directory of Turkish Cinema,” “Sinema Neyi Anlatır”, and “Medya ve Mizah ve Televizyon Dizileri”. In 2012, she was one of the coordinators of the 12th International İzmir Film Festival. In addition to short documentary works such as “Zaman Sensin Agora” (Time is You, Agora, 1993), “Senaryocu” (The Screenwriter, 2005), “Naif” (Naive, 2005), “İzmir’den Sinema Notları” (Cinema Notes from Izmir, 2010), and “Öbür Dağ” (The Other Mountain, 2020), she has a 93-minute documentary film consisting of an oral history study titled “Yıldız Sineması: Hatırlıyorum” (Yıldız Cinema: I Remember, 2021) related to Yıldız Sineması.

Merve Toz Uğurlu

Merve Toz Uğurlu was born in Istanbul. She completed her undergraduate education in the Department of Cinema and Television at Anadolu University’s Faculty of Communication. She began her career as an art assistant in advertising films when she was 16 years old, and she continued to work in this field throughout her university years. Starting in 2009, she served as an assistant director in various advertising, documentary, and short films. Since 2012, she has been working as an assistant director in both domestic and foreign advertising films and feature films. Some of the films she has worked on as an assistant director include Bahman Ghobadi’s ‘Four Walls,’ Ceylan Özçelik’s ‘Anxiety,’ Tunç Şahin’s ‘People Are Divided into Two,’ and Kaan Müjdeci’s ‘Iguana Tokyo.’ In addition to her role as an assistant director in international projects, she has also taken on the role of executive producer in her career, continuing to work with industry-leading projects and teams.


The international jury of the 9th edition of Contact International Student Film Festival will award the following prizes:

Grand Prix for the Best Short Film
With no tie exceptions
The winner will receive a cash prize of 1000€, kindly offered by Yaşar University Rectorate.

SenEDIT Award – Best Story
The winner will receive a cash prize of 400€ and a SenEDIT software package complimentary unlimited access, kindly offered by our award sponsor SenEDIT.

MEG Award
The winner will receive post-production support worth 500€ for their next film, available to be used within one year after claiming the prize.

Best Cinematography
The winner will receive a cash prize of 200€, kindly offered by Yaşar University Rectorate.

Student Jury Award
The international student jury will award the Student Jury Award.